Bad Bosses and The Companies Who Hire Them…

Posted: September 8, 2011 in New Posts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

by David Hoffman Jr

JOBFORCE takes a look at bad bosses...

Bad Bosses And The Companies Who Hire Them...

(Washington, DC)  In my last post, I promised to focus on ‘bad bosses’ and I must admit, I’m a little overdue.  Hey, I had to do my research.  During my ‘research phase’ things really became interesting, when the person I least expected (and actually had ear marked for a promotion) turned out to be the person who seemed to grow five heads (literally overnight). Ever had this happen to you?  What was even more surprising was that the person I had predicted would NOT do well, and perform well in a management position turned out to be the superstar that came through in the darkest hour when I least expected.

It turns out, this wasn’t the first time this person had been a shining star, it was ME who just had somehow failed to notice. How could this have happened?  Am I a bad boss?  Is my judgement that bad?  How did the best person go unnoticed to me, and the person I was about to promote fool me so well?  Was I blind or losing my edge to the detriment of the business, the customers, and my investors.  It was soul searching time – OF THE HIGHEST ORDER! What was I to do?

I TURNED TO MY MENTORS

I turned to my personal development library and found none other than Lou Adler who is an expert on hiring.  After reviewing some of his books, and doing a little soul searching. I realized that I was prejudiced, or more accurately harboring hiring biases that were like a cancer to the growth of the business.

Based on these false biases, I was predisposed to make consistently bad hiring decisions.  Of course, this would lead only to more problems because, I had NOT hired the talent that my staff so desperately needed, and placed this talent into the positions they were needed in (like yesterday).  I was instead, hiring people who didn’t actually know what they were doing.  It took longer than expected to get the new hire ready to handle the workload, and we wasted precious valuable resources at a time when resources were strained.  I won’t bore with the details.  Instead, allow me to introduce Lou Adler, and let him share his insights with you. Perhaps you can avoid the mistakes that I made, and take corrective actions before it’s too late. Here’s Lou, and be sure to click on the video to listen and we’ll pickup where we left off below afterwards:

HIRING WITH YOUR HEAD

Making Spectacular Hires...

Are You Overlooking Your Superstar Workers?

As you learned from listening to Lou’s podcast, we are most likely letting the ‘Spectacular Hires’ get away!  Lou teaches us that the employee candidates who give the best job interviews are frequently the WORST HIRES, while conversely, those candidates who may have given the worst interview often turn out to be the best employees in the long run.

As bosses, we have to make a focused effort on understanding the job position and what is needed BEFORE interviewing and making the final selection process.

I have changed my approach and begun working in every single position of any organization or project I am given to manage.  I’ve also taken it a bit further, by instituting job shifting and rotating (periodically) for a short time, different people into the various different functions of the work activity.  I noticed that almost immediately, everyone began to appreciate each others roles more.  The real surprise was that suggestions on how to improve efficiency started to come in freely.  Before, I had to almost drag ideas out of people.

I’ve even go so far as to work for other companies (on short assignments) to keep myself ‘close to the front’ so to speak where the emerging opportunities or problems were to be found.  This was a real learning experience.

There is an enormous resource of information out there, if bosses will listen.  Even if you are a boss and you don’t listen, that doesn’t mean your customer or your competitors aren’t listening.  You can begin to monitor Social Media communities and I’m sure you’ll find people talking about you (and how you’re performing as a boss), or your products and services.  These can be valuable places to start to look for ways you can enter the marketplace if you’re thinking about launching a new product or service.

A competitor who’s boss or CEO may think they have the market dominated, may in reality be on the brink of disaster (hopefully without any of your investment dollars or retirement portfolio at risk).  Check out these companies and see which companies are rated low compared to which companies are beloved by their employees.  It’s a real eye opener to say the least:

CLICK HERE: http://www.glassdoor.com/Reviews/reviews-SRCH_SAOR.htm

Leave a Reply

